Popcorn Two Ways

The other night Graeme and I went to the theatre to see Guardians of the Galaxy which was a great movie, in case you haven’t yet seen it.  As we were waiting for the movie to start, I wished that I had popcorn to munch on. The fact that movie theatre popcorn is so unhealthy basically put an end to that desire though, at least for the time-being. But the next day, I decided that I would create a guilt-free popcorn (or two) which I may or may not sneak in with me next time we’re at the movies…

Popcorn Two Ways

Graeme and I don’t own a microwave which may sound strange to you, however I really don’t see the problem with reheating food in the oven plus the whole zapping-your-food-thing just doesn’t bode well with me. So to make popcorn, I cook it in a pot over the stove. I also use non-GMO popcorn kernels because corn is a highly genetically modified crop. If you’re interested, the popcorn I’ve been using lately is called Nature’s Way Organics Passion Popcorn.

Margarita Popcorn

So let’s get down to the recipes! Graeme is a big fan of margaritas so trying my hand at a virgin margarita-inspired popcorn was a no-brainer. I also love a cheesy, salty and buttery popcorn so I came up with a much healthier option to indulge in. In fact, the “cheese” isn’t cheese at all! If you’re unable to eat dairy, using nutritional yeast adds a great cheesy flavour without causing your stomach upset from lactose. Score!

Healthy Movie-Style Popcorn

What’s your favourite? Any popcorn flava requests?

Homemade Popcorn Recipe
Makes 8 cups

1 tbsp coconut oil
1/4 cup non-GMO popcorn kernels

In a large pot, heat the coconut oil until it has melted. Add the popcorn kernels and close the pot with the lid. Swirl the kernels in the pot to help coat the kernels. Heat on medium-high heat. Shake pot every minute and wait until popping slows or stops before removing the pot from the heat. Pour popcorn into a bowl and season with your toppings of choice.

Margarita Popcorn Recipe
Makes 8 cups

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
zest and juice of one lime
sea salt to taste
2 tbsp coconut sugar

Add the toppings to the plain popcorn and serve. This popcorn does not store well, so if you would like to save some for later, it is best to save the plain popcorn in a ziploc bag and season when ready to eat.

Healthy Movie-Style Popcorn Recipe
Makes 8 cups

2-3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
3 tbsp nutritional yeast
Herbamare to taste

Add the toppings to the plain popcorn and serve.

Margarita Popcorn with coconut sugar and lime

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

