Grilled Vegetable Quinoa Salad

Well with a new job and wedding planning out the wahzoo, I have been neglecting my blog just a wee bit. I won’t leave you in the dark about all the fun things that have been going on as of lately though!

A few weeks ago, I started working at a natural food market called Goodness Me! as a Creative Design & Online Marketing Manager, and I have to say I absolutely love it! I get my hands on all sorts of fun things such as managing our social media pages, creating posters, banners, website graphics, making recipes and photographing them. (If you want to check out their recipe page, you’ll find lots of great ideas to try!)

Now, off in “wedding world”, I’ve also been a busy bee! Most recently, I attended a shower hosted by a family friend. It was a lovely English Tea, however the ladies did get a little risque with the toilet paper lingerie game! Even my Grandma joined in as a model (with my mum and soon-to-be mother-in-law).

All the lovely squares and cupcakes!

All the lovely squares and cupcakes!

 

I love my mum's smile in this one!! Ps. Check out my Grandma in red!

I love my mum’s smile in this one!! Ps. Check out my Grandma in red!

 

So as you can see,  things have been quite busy as of late however I am back with a great Grilled Vegetable Quinoa Salad! I loved this salad so much that I actually stretched it out for my lunch for four days this week as did my mum. It has great flavour, and is packed with 9g of protein, 4g of fibre and lots of vitamins and nutrients from the veggies. Dig in!

Grilled Vegetable Salad

Grilled Veggie Quinoa Salad

Grilled Vegetable Quinoa Salad Recipe
Serves 4-6

1 cup organic quinoa
1 each sweet red pepper and yellow pepper, cut in quarters
2 zucchinis, cut lengthwise in 1/2 inch thick pieces
12 asparagus spears, trimmed
1/2 cup feta cheese, crumbled
1/4 cup toasted sunflower seeds
3 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro

Chipolte Vinaigrette
3 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp red wine vinegar
3 pepperoncini peppers, minced
1 tsp honey
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp salt and pepper

Cook quinoa as directed on the back of the package. Spread it on a small tray and let cool for about 10 minutes. In a bowl, whisk oil, vinegar and chipolte pepper in sauce, honey, cumin, salt and pepper. Set aside the dressing.

In a big bowl, toss all vegetables with 3 tbsp of vinaigrette. Place on a greased grill over medium heat. Close the lid and grill the vegetables until they are charred and tender. Each vegetable will cook at a different speed so be sure to move around the vegetables as needed. Cut the veggies into large chunks and throw back into the bowl. Add all ingredients together (quinoa, dressing, feta, cilantro and sunflower seeds. Mix. Serve right away or store in refrigerator to enjoy cold -both are delicious!

Delicious!

Leave a Reply

