Coconut Curry Squash Soup

Before I get into the whole squash soup thing, I want to mention a complete failure of a dessert which I concocted over the weekend. You see I attempted to make a healthy birthday cake for Graeme (his request). The problem is, I took it one step too far….

Over the past couple weeks, I’ve been on the Hormone Diet, and there are some major limitations to my diet as a result. These limitations include no gluten, no dairy and no sugar. Now that’s a challenge if I’ve ever seen one! But I soldiered on and came up with what I thought would be a decent tasting chocolate cake. It passed, but it was by no means a cake that I would make again.

Here’s the low-down: I used quinoa flour to stay with the no gluten rule. I then used cocoa powder to stay with the no dairy rule. As for the sweetener, I used unsweetened applesauce and super ripe bananas. The icing was made with dates, cocoa powder and almond milk. Please see exhibit A.

Everything Free Chocolate Cake

Now it doesn’t look so bad, but in my opinion it tasted like a unsweetened banana chocolate bread. The whole time I chewed, I felt like my brain was trying to categorize it somewhere between dessert and dinner, but it just couldn’t find the right place. Oh well. Graeme said he liked it and actually had it for breakfast the next morning. (I think he just knows what’s good for him).

Here’s the happy Birthday Boy, PRE-cake eating. Note the great balloon hat!

Birthday boy

Ok, back to the squash!

I’ve been getting a bit crazy over here….with squash that is! I probably need to tone it down a wee bit since squash in some way or other has made the dinner menu about five times over the last two weeks. My dad has had about enough of it, but being that he can’t cook, it was squash or nothin’!

Squash Coconut Curry Soup

The other night, I was feeling pretty chilly so I decided a squash soup was the ticket. And was I ever right! I used a bunch of pre-chopped squash, because let’s be real; no one enjoys cutting a tough as nails, rolling squash. I then added in onion, apple, seasoning and chicken broth. Voila. One big bowl of delicious and good-for-you soup!

Now the secret is in the topping. I opted for some green onions and some toasted coconut. It adds a whole new dimension to the meal, and a great one at that. Let me know if you give it a whirl and what kind of toppings you add to your soup. I’d love to give them a shot! Squash Coconut Curry Soup

Curry and Toasted Coconut Squash Soup Recipe
Serves 4

2 pounds butternut squash, peeled and seeded
1 yellow onions, chopped
2 McIntosh apples, peeled and cored
3 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
Salt and ground black pepper
2 cups chicken stock
1/2 tsp curry powder

green onions, sliced
flaked sweetened coconut, toasted lightly

Preheat the oven to 425 F. Place the chopped butternut squash on a baking sheet with the chopped apples and onions.  Combine the olive oil, salt and pepper in a small dish. Pour over the squash, apples and onion. Toss to coat. Spread out evenly on the baking sheet. Roast in oven for 35 -40 minutes. The vegetables should be tender when done.

Split the vegetables into 2 and put the first batch into a food processor or blender. Add half the chicken stock. Puree. Pour into a large pot and add the second batch. Repeat until all vegetables are combined with the broth and pureed. Add the curry powder and 1 tsp of salt with pepper to taste. Heat the soup in the pot over the stove.

Meanwhile, spread the coconut on a baking sheet. Toast in oven at 300 F for 2 minutes or until lightly brown. This does not take long so be careful not to forget about it in the oven! Sprinkle the coconut and green onions on top of each bowl of soup and serve.

One response to “Coconut Curry Squash Soup

  1. Pingback: Butternut Squash and Blue Cheese Casserole | One Tip For The Future·

Leave a Reply

