Edible Easter Basket Treats

Hands down, Easter has THE best chocolate. If you’ve ever had a mini egg you know what I’m talking about. I also associate a lot of fun memories as a kid with Easter so naturally I am quite enthused by the whole holiday. One of my fondest memories has to do with edible Easter basket treats. Probably from the time I was four, my family has been making these treats…. so that’s 20 solid years now! Wowza!

Easter_Treats

This year, I decided to give the ol’ tradition a run for it’s money by introducing something a bit more health-conscious. Are you ready for it?

Yummy

NATURAL ALMOND  BUTTER!

The traditional recipe includes peanut butter but in the interest of good health, I decided I’d use a natural nut butter, free of unhealthy fats and sugars. Of course, if you prefer peanut butter over almond butter, that is an option as well. I chose to adapt the recipe as well to make 6 nests but it can easily be doubled to make more, depending on how many you are feeding.

Now, I’ll be getting back to my Easter treat making! Ol’ Thumper will be on his way soon!

Shredded Wheat

The Mixins'

Press the mixture with a spoon into the muffin tins.

Press the mixture with a spoon into the muffin tins.

 

Easter_Treats

Edible Easter Basket Treats Recipe

Makes 6 nests

2 shredded wheat biscuits, crumbled
1/4 cup + 1 tbsp natural almond butter
1/4 cup + 1 tbsp butterscotch chips
jelly beans (enough for 2-3 per nest)

Mix almond butter and chips over low heath or in the microwave until melted. Add crumbled shredded wheat. Stir to coat. Press into muffin tins using a spoon to form into a little nests (higher edges and lower centre). Place in the fridge to set. Once set, loosen the edges with a knife but be careful not to break the nest. Fill the nests with jelly beans or chocolate eggs.

Leave a Reply

