Fresh Mango Salsa

I spend a heck of a lot of time at my soon-to-be-parents-law’s house. That is not a complaint in the least, especially since I always eat so well there. Recently, after a long day of skiing with Graeme, we returned home to an amazing mango salsa, courtesy of my soon-to-be mother-in-law.  She paired it with pitas, salmon and rice…and it blew my socks off! So of course, I essentially copied the entire meal the other night because it was SO good!

skiing

Fresh-mango-salsa-recipe

The salsa is ridiculously versatile so if you have a party to go to, it makes a great appetizer with pitas or tortilla chips. If you’re looking for a main course, grill up some salmon steaks or throw together some tacos and use it as a topping. I’ve even seen it used with lentil burgers before. Best thing is, it’s super easy.

As far as personal taste preference, you can add as much or as little jalepeno as you want, depending on the level of heat you are looking for. If you aren’t a fan of heat, be sure to rid the jalepeno of each and every seed. If you can stand to bring the heat, throw them all in with it…. I commend you for your bravery!  Just be sure to wash your hands very, VERY well afterwards. Apparently, I didn’t do as great of a job washing afterwards because my right eye was burning up shortly after. Clearly, I rubbed it with the same hand I touched the jalepeno with…wonderful!

Fresh Mango Salsa

Fresh Mango Salsa Recipe

Serves 2-4 depending on how it is used

1 ripe but firm mango
1 red bell peper, diced
1 Jalepeno, seeded and diced
1 small red onion, diced finely
1 tbsp lime juice
1 tbsp fresh cilantro , chopped (or more if desired)

Combine everything into a bowl and toss to combine. Chill in fridge or serve immediately with pitas, chips or on fish.

fresh-mango-salsa

Leave a Reply

