Feta and Roasted Red Pepper Turkey Burgers

Hey Everyone! How are you dealing with all this snow? In my opinion it’s about freaking time we had a winter with heaps of snow.  I personally despise the cold, but if we’re going to have winter, at least make it a white one. Do you have any plans up your sleeve for our Wintery Wonderland? I guess if you have a lot of shoveling to do, it can be a bit of a pain but I recently found out that for one hour of shoveling by hand, a 150 pound person would burn 408 calories. Not too shabby, eh?! Or you can skip the shoveling and just cross-country ski everywhere…? I went out on my own for a good hour last Sunday and had a blast! (One more dolla for the Honeymoon Jar!)

Cross-country-skiing

All I really want to do though is fit in a good ski trip. Last year Graeme and I got out once and there were a ton of dirt patches on the mountain. I even went out and bought a new ski jacket and pants at an end of season sale, so I’m crossing my fingers that I’ll put them to use this season! Let’s hope Graeme gets home from his trips before it all melts….

Anyway, you would think that with the recent snowstorm, the last thing I would want to do is BBQ. But even the cold could not sway me from craving burgers. So much to brother’s dismay, I made them in the frying pan instead. And I will tell you, they were great! (Eat your words, Taylor!)

Feta-Roasted-Pepper-Turkey-Burgers

This is definitely a burger with Mediterranean flare using feta and roasted red peppers mixed into lean turkey. For toppings, you can skip out on the traditional mustard, ketchup and relish and opt for Greek yogurt and cucumbers. I honestly couldn’t be happier with the outcome.

Waiting to be flattened!

Waiting to be flattened!

The recipe below makes 4 patties but if you want to have extras without the fuss, you can double the batch and freeze the extra patties for another time. Just be sure not to defrost already frozen turkey and then refreeze it. I don’t want anyone getting sick!

Turkey Burgers

Feta and Roasted Red Pepper Turkey Burgers

Makes 4 patties

1 lb lean ground turkey
3 oz feta cheese
3 oz roasted red peppers chopped
1 egg
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
1 tsp fresh lemon juice
1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt
4 whole-wheat hamburger rolls
1 cup baby spinach
1/2 cup cucumber slices

Combine the turkey, feta cheese, red peppers, egg and pepper in a bowl. Mix ingredients together. Shape the meat into 4 patties. Heat a frying pan over medium-high heat. Place patties in the pan and cover. Cook for 7 minutes and then flip to cook for 5 more minutes or until cooked through.

Toppings:
Combine the yogurt and lemon juice in a small bowl. Chop cucumber slices and wash spinach leaves. Place turkey on bun and top with yogurt, cucumbers and spinach. Serve warm.

What are your favourite burger pattie mix-ins? 

Leave a Reply

