Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies for Two

It’s nearly Valentine’s Day, my friends!  I’ve always loved Valentine’s Day, single or not. It’s just a great all around lovey-dovey kind of day, that I can wear all pink, red and white, hand out old school Valentine’s, eat chocolate and bake cookies. The latter is key.

Gluten-free-choco-chip-cookies

This year, in preparation of February 14th, I’ve been thinking up some good dessert recipes for two. We all know that the worst and best thing about cookies is the cookie dough. I can easily eat spoonful upon spoonful of that stuff until I’m literally sick to my stomach, and even then, there’s enough left to make a couple dozen! It’s a bit excessive, don’t you think? So, how about chocolate chip cookies for two? (However, Graeme has been gone for last few weeks so guess who got to eat both cookies? mhmm)

gluten-free-cookie-dough

I was sent a recipe from a neighbor that she found on a blog called no. 2 pencil. The cookies are unreal, but I wanted to see if I could come up with a slightly healthier, gluten free version. I have good news too…. I did! I opted for coconut flour rather than all-purpose and substituted in Sucanat and organic cane sugar for the white and brown sugars. I also traded in the dairy chocolate chips for vegan. The only downside of these cookies is that they didn’t flatten like the original recipe, but they still taste awesome!

Gluten-free-choco-chip-cookies

What’s a favourite dessert recipe of yours? Send it on over and we’ll see if I can come up with the “For Two” version! 

Gluten-free-choco-chip-cookies

Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies For Two Recipe

Makes 2 Large Cookies

2 Tbsp butter softened
2 Tbsp Sucanat
1 Tbsp cane sugar
pinch of kosher salt
1/4 tsp vanilla
1 egg yolk
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 cup coconut flour
2 Tbsp Vegan chocolate chips (more or less depending on preference)

Preheat oven to 350 F. Combine butter, sugars, salt, vanilla and eggs. Add dry ingredients and mix to combine. Fold in chocolate chips. Make two big balls of dough and place on a baking sheet. Bake in oven for 10-12 minutes or until cookies are golden brown. Let cool before you take a bite.

Leave a Reply

