Clean Eating Blueberry Oat Muffins

When I was growing up, my mum was part of a community group called Mothers Support Group. It was basically a bunch of women that met bi-weekly to  listen to motivational speakers, chat and offer a social support group to each other. They also brought their children to be looked after by volunteers each week, so it offered them a break from all of us. My brother and I loved going every week since we basically made crafts and ran around in a gym for a couple hours with a bunch of friends.

Clean-eating-blueberry-oat-muffin-recipe

One year, as a fundraiser, Mothers Support decided to create a cookbook by compiling hundreds of recipes and then sold it at various functions. My mum, being the kitchen-loving cook that she is, contributed dozens upon dozens of recipes. Literally every other page has her name on it (I do not exaggerate). Over the years, this cookbook has been a staple in our house, much like the infamous Better Homes Cookbook.  As you may expect, it has become quite tattered over time, but thankfully my mum bought an extra copy years ago so that I could take it to university one day. I remember when she gave me my own, brand new copy at 18 years old and how shocked I was that she had planned that far ahead.

Mothers-Support-Group-Cookbook

Enough of this reminiscing though! I woke up this morning at 4:30 and could not get back to sleep so I decided to go downstairs and make a batch of muffins. I found my mum’s Blueberry Oat Muffins in the Mothers Support Cookbook and then decided to make a clean version of the recipe. As a result, I’ve substituted the brown sugar in the original recipe for Sucanat, and used spelt flour in place of white all-purpose. I also opted to use almond milk in place of dairy milk. Despite all of these substitutions, everyone is very pleased with the outcome -yummy blueberry oat muffins!! I hope you like them too.

Clean-eating-blueberry-out-muffins

Muffins-from-scratch

Clean Eating Blueberry Oat Muffins Recipe

Makes 1 dozen

1 cup rolled oats
1 cup almond milk
1 cup spelt flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup Sucanat
1 egg, beaten
1/4 cup melted butter
1 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen)

Pre-heat oven to 400 F. Combine oats and almond milk in small bowl and let stand. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and Sucanat. Stir well to blend. Add egg and melted butter to oat mixture. Mix well. Add oat mixture all at once to dry ingredients. Stir until just moistened. Gently fold in blueberries. Fill well-greased tins 3/4 full. Bake for 15-22 minutes.

2 responses to “Clean Eating Blueberry Oat Muffins

  1. Nice recipee B!
    I made ‘clean’ muffins this week too. My recipee had coconut flour, unsweetened applesauce, and honey to add the sweetness. Going to add the oats in next time!

Leave a Reply

