Moroccan Spiced Oranges on Greek Yogurt

The other day my body was craving something sweet, but my mind was telling me “no”, so I had to come up with something deliciously sweet but healthy. We had a few oranges on hand and so I thought I’d test out a recipe in the cookbook, Cooking Light Through the Seasons. I made a few tweaks to make it a bit more healthy and then went on my merry way.

Moroccan-spiced-oranges-greek-yogurt

First of all, I substituted Sucanat into the recipe rather than sugar as it is a less processed form of cane sugar. The name Sucanat actually stands for SUgar CAne NATural and comes from sugar cane which is pressed after being harvested to extract the natural cane juice.  The juice is then filtered and evaporated to remove the excess water. Once it is in its syrup form it is then crystallized which is the form we buy it in at the store. Sucanat also has less sucrose than white sugar because it is has not been purified. In fact, it is ranked as one of the highest in nutritional values when compared to other sugars. So, if you must have sugar, this is a good alternative in comparison to the the purified versions.

oranges

The Moroccan spiced oranges can be used as a topping for ice cream or frozen yogurt, but going with the healthful theme, I opted for vanilla Greek yogurt to up its protein value.

The other thing I should mention about this recipe is that the oranges can be a bit finicky. You could always buy the canned version but when you can get fresh oranges, I’d rather just put my patience to the test and slice them out of the membranes myself. If you’re in a pinch though, I’m sure the mandarin oranges would work fine.

moroccan-spiced-oranges

But before I give the recipe, what kind of sweet treats do you like to have that are on the healthy side? Have any favourite desserts you’d like to see a healthy version of? Let me know!! 

Moroccan Spiced Oranges on Greek Yogurt

Serves 2

1 orange split into segments and….
2 tsp pitted dates chopped
2 tsp almonds slivered
1/2 tsp Sucanat
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp fresh lemon juice
Orange rind for taste and garnish
Vanilla Greek yogurt (ice cream or frozen yogurt also work)

First peel the orange and divide the sections. Then cut along the top of the orange and peel back the membrane. Do so over a bowl to collect the juice and place the orange inside the bowl while discarding the membrane. This is tricky so be as patient as possible!!! Add the chopped dates, almonds, Sucanat, cinnamon and lemon juice to the bowl. Toss to combine. Spoon a serving of Greek Yogurt into a bowl and add the orange topping on top. Using a cheese grater, grate orange rind on top to garnish. Serve. You can also make the orange mixture ahead and chill before you are ready to serve.

 

 

Leave a Reply

