New Year’s Resolutions and Gingered Fruit Salad

Hello there! I hope you are enjoying your first weekend of 2013!  Most importantly, I hope you are sticking to those new years resolutions, whatever they may be.

I for one really need to sit down and hash out my resolutions since so far all that I’ve decided is to lose a few pounds and tone up. As some of you know, Graeme and I got engaged in December which means I have a white dress looming in my very near future. If that doesn’t motivate me, I’m not sure what will! First, I need to get my action plan on paper though, otherwise it will be hard to stick it out.

We're Engaged!

Did you make any resolutions this year? What’s your game plan for sticking to them? I would love to hear in the comments below! One tip that I’ve heard from a few credible sources, is to take baby steps in order to ensure you are successful. If you decide, “this year, I’m going to lose 20 pounds!”, don’t expect yourself to lose them all in the first month. But don’t procrastinate either, thinking “oh, I’ll stop eating cookies tomorrow”. What you need to do is decide how you are going to lose those first 5 pounds and what is a realistic time frame to do that in. As I’ve mentioned before in the post, November Resolutions for a Healthy Bod, using a tool such as MyFitnessPal allows you to track your eating habits and exercise on a daily basis. The online tool also enables you to set a realistic goals using their recommendation based on your personal information.

Once you have reached the 5 pound milestone, you are ready to set another goal for the next 5, and so on and so on, until you reach the magic 20 pound marker.  Another key too, is not to get discouraged when you slip up. It’s ridiculously hard to eat perfectly all the time, and for me, the 80/20 rule (see 10 Things About Me) lets me enjoy my food rather than feel that I’m missing out on the foods I love most. But at the same time, there’s still a guideline so that you don’t let yourself fall too far off the wagon. Just know that when you do fall off the wagon (and we all do!), you must pick yourself back up and jump right back on.

Fruit Salad

Well, enough about all that resolution chit-chat. I want to share with you a Fruit Salad recipe that I’m absolutely in love with. We made it a few weeks ago for a family Christmas party and served it at dessert alongside the typical pies and cookies. It was quite a refreshing treat, and I felt that I was doing myself a favour by splitting my dessert 50/50 with sweets and fruit. WIN-WIN! Let me know if you give it a whirl! Make note too that you can use whatever fruit you please. I personally cannot stand cantaloupe one bit. A single whiff of the fruit sends me running, so needless to say, I did not include cantaloupe in my version. Do as you wish though!

Fruit Salad

Gingered Fruit Salad Recipe

Makes 12 servings

3 Tbsp chopped crystallized ginger
3 Tbsp lemon juice
1/4 cup honey
3 cups cubed fresh pineapple
2 cups honeydew melon (if you wish)
2 cups grapes
4 cups sliced strawberries
1 cup raspberries

In a large bowl combine the first three ingredients and whisk together. Add the melon, pineapple and grapes and toss gently. Cover and refrigerate for 8 hours (however, I’ve been impatient before and ate it straight away and thought it tasted great!). Just before serving, stir in the strawberries and sprinkle the raspberries on top. Serve!

Gingered Fruit Salad

Leave a Reply

