“One of Those Days” Pumpkin Grilled Cheese Sandwiches with Orange Jam

Today was “one of those days”. Scratch that, this week has been “one of those days”! I am just waiting for the week to turn around at any time now…. just waiting….hoping…. crossing my fingers….

It’s all for silly reasons really, (mainly being IT issues), and it has me all frustrated. So, I figured I needed something warm and comforting to perk my mood. And that’s when it dawned on me to attempt a re-creation of a grilled cheese sandwich that I had recently enjoyed at a La Jolla restaurant called Prep Kitchen. Now, it was no ordinary grilled cheese sandwich. It was a Confit Duck Panini with Manchego, Pumpkin and Orange Jam! Quite the twist, eh?

I didn’t feel the desire to run to the store to find some duck but I did have a big can of pumpkin puree and a whole cupboard full of spices. Why not opt for the vegetarian version then?

So, that’s what I did. And in the name of American Thanksgiving, I am thankful that the panini maker was on its best behaviour since one more “techie” problem will surely have me in tears!

This is homemade orange jam courtesy of my grandmother but feel free to use the store-bought kind…

 

I’ve tried this sandwich twice now….(Yes, both this week…I told you it’s been bad!) The first time I tried it with mozzarella and today with havarti cheese. They were both equally good but I encourage you to be creative with your cheese choice and let me know how it is.

Pumpkin Grilled Cheese Sandwiches with Orange Jam

Makes 1 sandwich
2 slices of whole wheat bread
1/2 cup of pumpkin puree
1/4 tsp sucanat (or brown sugar if you’d prefer)
pinch of nutmeg
1/4 tsp cinnamon
4 slices of havarti, mozzarella or any other cheese you prefer (more or less depending on how much you like cheese)
2 Tbsp orange jam

Mix together the pumpkin puree, sucanat, nutmeg and cinnamon. Spread the mixture on one side of bread per sandwich. Top with cheese. Spread orange jam on the other piece of bread and slap the sides together. Throw on a heated panini grill and wait until you have those nice grill marks on the top or the cheese is melted to your liking. Cut sandwiches in half and serve warm.

ahhh, now I feel better…

Leave a Reply

