A Lesson in Challenge and Motivation

I will confess, I’m not that great of a runner. I’ve never come close to excelling at running long distance or being the first to cross the finish line. I’m not even that great at pushing myself to the next hurdle in my run. I typically give up before I get a chance to really see what I’m made of. So why do I even bother running? To be honest, it’s an outlet. At the end of the day, I need to get out from my desk to the outdoors, breathe in some fresh air, and just let the music pulse my eardrums while my shoes pound the pavement. It rids me of any stress I encountered throughout the day and helps me to clear my mind. It’s an opportunity to be alone for an hour with my thoughts and gives my body the endorphins it craves. And for all of these reasons, I do not care in the least that I’m not naturally good at running.

BUT sometimes you do need to give yourself a little push and so when my best friend, Sara asked Graeme and I if we’d like to run in a 5K, I said yes, even though I wasn’t sure I had ever run 5K straight. When I offered up my hesitations, Sara wouldn’t hear it. I guess that’s what you can expect from a Group Ex Fitness instructor, distance-runner and former Ringette player. She’s currently training for her first half Ironman, so really, there was nothing I could say to convince her that I may not be up for the challenge.  She’s even documenting her training for the half ironman through her blog, Going the Distance Blog. And let me tell you, if you need any sort of inspiration, motivation, kick in the pants, food for the soul etc, just read her blog and you will walk away as a better person. Scout’s honor!

So this wasn’t just any 5K run. Nope, it was a Trek or Treat run, in the dark with decorations along the path, lots of candy, pizza and runners decked out in costumes from Elmo to gum sticks. The three of us dressed as The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (without the shells since they would’ve been constricting to our lightening speed pace).

It was freezing that night but we quickly warmed up when we hit the pavement running and Sara, bless her heart, stayed with me the whole way even though I know she could’ve finished it in 15 minutes flat. When it came to the end, Graeme decided he was going to step it up a notch and ran on to finish a few seconds before us, while Sara and I finished it up at 32 minutes…..with no walking!

The great part of finishing a race is realizing that you in fact, did it. You pushed through it and you conquered it, but the best part of all is that it leaves you wanting MORE! Yes, ladies and gentleman, that means I’m challenging myself to a 10K. It’s nothing in comparison to those of you that run marathons, Ironmans or Tough Mudders, but this is my personal challenge. BRING IT ON!

What kind of goals do you have for yourself this year? Are you focusing on fitness or nutrition or something entirely different? 

2 responses to “A Lesson in Challenge and Motivation

Leave a Reply

