Raspberry Banana Oatmeal Smoothie

When I lived in Hong Kong for 10 months, I ate oatmeal every single day (with a few exceptions). I had a routine of making my oatmeal, sprinkling cinnamon on top and then chopping up bananas or adding berries to the mix. It was an awesome start to the day, but after 10 months of the same old thing (even though I know it’s healthy), I was sick and tired of oatmeal. Even now, at one and half years since I returned from Hong Kong, I can’t find the same excitement for oatmeal that I used to have. So I had to find an alternative route to get those morning oats in my breakfast that stick to your ribs and make you a go-getter for the rest of the day. AH HA! A breakfast smoothie!

I’m a sucker for raspberries….and Greek yogurt…and bananas. Why not put it all in one blender and see what happens? Well, let me tell you…it is one delicious combination! I had this smoothie on Saturday morning with some banana muffins and it was just scrumptious!  If you have a magic bullet, you can also mix-it up in the morning and take it to work to enjoy later in the afternoon. Just be sure that you keep it in the fridge.

What’s your go-to favourite every morning? What smoothie combinations do you enjoy? 

Raspberry Banana Oatmeal Smoothie Recipe

1 cup ice
1/2 cup frozen raspberries
1/2 cup vanilla Greek yogurt
1/2 cup quick oats
1 banana
1 tablespoon honey
1 cup water (less if you want a thicker smoothie)

Throw everything in a blender and blend until you have your desired consistency. Pour into glasses and enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

